Well, we certainly have a lot to be thankful for this year! A ton has happened, and as the year winds down it is time to ponder the events that have taken place.
The Mr & I are extremely thankful for:
-Eachother, of course
-Our HUGE, loving family and the time we spend with them, even though it's loud and crazy, it's always eventful!
-Our continuing education. Even though it's taking a very long time, we are grateful that we have the opportunity to be able to attend an institution of higher learing so one day we can have fancier jobs other than court clerk and pizza delivery boy :]
-... our jobs. Even though they're less than glamorous, we have them. I am able to provide our small family with great insuance and a meger paycheck, and the Mr is able to work around his full time school schedule, but they both put food on the table and provide for our lifestyle. With the economy being what it is, we have to acknowledge our good fortune.
-Our health! Sniffles and sneezing aside, we are truly grateful that we are in one piece, able to do the activities we both have to do and love to do each day.
-Our friends. They are really our extended family, and we love spending time with them. It's great to not have a shortage of people to call up and waste away a Saturday night with :]
Thanksgiving was super busy for us, we made it to three family get-togethers with starting times of 12, 2, and 4. Even with those three different families, I still wasn't able to see my Dad's side of the family, which kind of stinks! There's always Christmas. As for now, the Mr & I are tossing around ideas fro next year and how to just go to one family on Thanksgiving, without it ending up like the movie Four Christmases, which is really good I might add! And super relevant if you're from a divorced and remarried family!
As for Black Friday, I had originally said that shopping at 12am, just hours after Thanksgiving dinner was against my religion, basically. I just feel so bad for the workers having to disrupt their night. I mean, can it not wait until 4 or 5am??
Unfortunately, I indulged in a few glasses of wine playing sets & runs with the Mr's family, and was convinced into going at midnight. After a short nap and watching my pretty much favorite movie, Escanaba in Da Moonlight (YOU NEED TO SEE THIS!) we ventured out.
Apparently, the movie was a sign to how our night was going to begin... about half a mile away from Target we braked just enough to hit the hind quarters of a buck with a fairly large rack. And no, I didn't have time to count his points!
Apparently the damage of this buck's butt is at least $2,000, but luckily insurance covers most of it! Amy's poor car :[
We waited for the police, but decided to go shopping anyways! I only ended up going to Target and Macy's and was amazed at people's manners. Not only do people just jam their carts into you thinking you'll move, but they don't say 'please,' 'thank you,' or 'excuse me!' I think next year, I'll probably just do all online shopping :]
My favorite midnight purchase were these flannel sheets from Target:
They're in the wash now, can't wait to sleep with them tonight!
As for the rest of the weekend, I believe the Mr will be forcing me to watch lots of football, but in return I'm going to make him pick out a real live Christmas tree with me afterwards!
Happy Thanksgiving & Happy Shopping!
PS Watch out for those deer!
XOXO
The Mrs



No comments:
Post a Comment